George Young is being inducted into the Hall of Fame this year (he was a member of the 2020 class, but he’s actually going in now). With the Giants, Young won The Sporting News’ “Executive of the Year” award five times. Who is the only other person who’s won this award more than twice?


Bill Polian. Polian won this award twice each with three different teams – Bills, Panthers, Colts. This award is given after polling beat writers, so there’s opinion involved. The Pro Football Writers Association also has an Executive of the Year award, and they’ve had a different winner in 11 of the last 17 seasons. Nonetheless, those who cover the sport in general tend to agree that Young was one of the best GMs.