The Cowboys released Ezekiel Elliott on Wednesday. He’s led that team in touchdowns seven years in a row (both Elliott and Tony Pollard scored 12 touchdowns last year, and Elliott scored more touchdowns than any teammate in each of the previous six seasons). Who was the last player to lead a team in touchdowns in even more consecutive years?


LaDainian Tomlinson. Tomlinson led the Chargers in touchdowns in nine straight seasons (2001 to 2009). Two other backs in this century have put together 7-year runs. Adrian Peterson did it in each of his first seven seasons before being shelved by a knee injury. And Clinton Portis had a 7-year streak (although it included stints with two teams – Denver and Washington). A pair of Hall of Famers had long streaks that ended in the ‘90s: Jerry Rice (11 years) and Emmitt Smith (7).