Only eight tight ends in NFL history have gone over 1,000 yards in a season at least three times, and two of those guys could be looking for new teams. Jason Witten concedes he might not be back in Dallas, and Greg Olsen says he’s done with Carolina.

Olsen posted on social media today that he spoke with management, with both sides agreeing he won’t be back with the team. Ian Thomas has had some success filling in in recent years; he could be their starter (but they also could obtain another tight end during the offseason).

Both are overloaded with veteran smarts – they’ve been around forever, but they’re also older guys. Olsen turns 35 in March; Witten turns 38 in May. Neither one is a good candidate to go over 800 yards again in their career. Olsen in particular has been plagued by injuries in recent years.

Both have tried their hand at broadcasting – Olsen some during bye weeks, while Witten was on ESPN’s Monday Night Football crew in 2018.

If they’re done, both would be in the conversation to be among the 10 best to ever play their position. There have been 47 seasons with 1,000 yards by tight ends in NFL history, and these guys have had seven of them.

2018George Kittle, S.F.881,37715.65
2018Travis Kelce, K.C.1031,33613.010
2011Rob Gronkowski, N.E.901,32714.717
2011Jimmy Graham, N.O.991,31013.211
1980Kellen Winslow, S.D.891,29014.59
2004Tony Gonzalez, K.C.1021,25812.37
1983Todd Christensen, Rai.921,24713.612
2019Travis Kelce, K.C.971,22912.75
2013Jimmy Graham, N.O.861,21514.116
1967Jackie Smith, St.L.561,20521.59
2000Tony Gonzalez, K.C.931,20312.99
2015Rob Gronkowski, N.E.721,17616.311
1994Ben Coates, N.E.961,17412.27
1983Kellen Winslow, S.D.881,17213.38
2007Tony Gonzalez, K.C.991,17211.85
2018Zach Ertz, Phil.1161,16310.08
2009Antonio Gates, S.D.791,15714.68
1986Todd Christensen, Rai.951,15312.18
2019Darren Waller, Oak.901,14512.73
2007• Jason Witten, Dall.961,14511.97
2016Travis Kelce, K.C.851,12513.24
2014Rob Gronkowski, N.E.821,12413.712
1997Shannon Sharpe, Den.721,10715.43
2009Dallas Clark, Ind.1001,10611.110
2007Kellen Winslow, Cle.821,10613.55
2015Greg Olsen, Car.771,10414.37
2005Antonio Gates, S.D.891,10112.410
2015Delanie Walker, Ten.941,08811.66
2017Rob Gronkowski, N.E.691,08415.78
1961Mike Ditka, Chi.561,07619.212
1981Kellen Winslow, S.D.881,07512.210
2016Greg Olsen, Car.801,07313.43
1996Shannon Sharpe, Den.801,06213.310
2008Tony Gonzalez, K.C.961,05811.010
2019George Kittle, S.F.851,05312.45
2015Gary Barnidge, Cle.791,04313.29
2012• Jason Witten, Dall.1101,0399.43
2017Travis Kelce, K.C.831,03812.58
2009• Jason Witten, Dall.941,03011.02
1994Shannon Sharpe, Den.871,01011.64
2014Greg Olsen, Car.841,00812.06
1984Todd Christensen, Rai.801,00712.67
1981Joe Senser, Min.791,00412.78
2010• Jason Witten, Dall.941,00210.79
1981Ozzie Newsome, Cle.691,00214.56
1986Mark Bavaro, NYG661,00115.24
1984Ozzie Newsome, Cle.891,00111.25

—Ian Allan