If you’re looking for a guy who’s going to rank No. 1 at his position, Travis Kelce might be the safest choice. Five years in a row, he’s finished with the best tight end numbers.

I started playing around with the numbers since the merger (in 1970). Kelce is the only player at any position who’s been No. 1 five years in a row. Only five others have finished first at their position in four straight years. That’s all positions – QB, RB, WR, TE and kicker.

The five others who’ve gone four straight years are all notable players: Jerry Rice, Marvin Harrison, Stephen Gostkowski, Todd Christensen and Emmitt Smith.

Including Kelce (and those 4-year guys), 17 players have finished No. 1 at their position in at least three straight seasons.

I see that the list includes five tight ends, and they all come from AFC West teams: Kelce, Christensen, Tony Gonzalez, Kellen Winslow and Shannon Sharpe. Statistically, that hardly seems possible, with their being seven other divisions combining for none.

TETravis KelceK.C.2016-205
TETodd ChristensenRdrs.1983-864
RBEmmitt SmithDall.1992-954
WRJerry RiceS.F.1993-964
WRMarvin HarrisonInd.1999-024
KStephen GostkowskiN.E.2012-154
RBWalter PaytonChi.1977-793
QBDan FoutsS.D.1980-823
TEKellen WinslowS.D.1980-823
QBDan MarinoMia.1984-863
QBSteve YoungS.F.1992-943
QBBrett FavreG.B.1995-973
TEShannon SharpeDen.1996-983
RBMarshall FaulkSt.L.1999-013
TETony GonzalezK.C.1999-013
QBDaunte CulpepperMin.2002-043
WRAntonio BrownPitt.2014-163

—Ian Allan